broken bones & some good banana bread.

As of late, I have had a series of moments that have convinced those around me that I am Tina Fey’s twin (more like Liz Lemon’s twin, but I think my comparison is more flattering…). It started out with having stress fractures in one foot, which led to me having crutches, which resulted in me losing parts of the crutches and sending my 6th graders on a “scavenger hunt” to find them. I was the only one to win that game.

But wait; there’s more! Now I have not one but two broken feet! (I feel like an informercial– “if you call within 2 minutes, a second chopping ninja is included!”–, but the addition of the second broken foot isn’t convincing you to order anything.) This is the result of having low bone density and increasing the duration/frequency of my workouts too quickly. Please don’t do that.

With rest and a very sexy boot, I’m on the road to recovery and feeling remarkably better after only  a week.  I even have a stool in the kitchen that I sit on as I cook (thanks, Christian!). This may strike you as sad; to me, it’s inventive!

And so, all of this information is intended to do two things: inspire pity so you won’t judge me when I tell you I’ve been watching “Pretty Little Liars” (I’ve been watching “Pretty Little Liars”) and convince you to make some fine banana bread with the very ripe bananas you may currently have in your pantry.

lv, molly

P.S. I made it through the school year! It is officially summer. :)

Olive Oil Banana Bread w. Chocolate Chips

Makes 1 bundt loaf*

*I used a bundt pan because then it feels like you’re eating cake. A regular loaf pan would certainly suffice, if you prefer to convince yourself you are eating bread.

1 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
3/4 cup dark muscovado or dark brown sugar
3/4 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 C coarsely chopped bittersweet chocolate
1/3 C extra-virgin olive oil
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
1 1/2 cups VERY ripe bananas (~3 bananas)
1/4 C plain, whole milk yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350° F. Grease a 9- by 5- inch (23 x 13 cm) loaf pan or bundt pan, or equivalent.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flours, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Mix in the chocolate; combine well.

In a medium bowl, mix together the olive oil, eggs, mashed banana, yogurt, and vanilla. Pour the banana mixture into the flour mixture and fold with a spatula until just combined.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake until golden brown, about 35-45 minutes. Don’t overbake! When it’s lightly browned, take it out. Err on the side of underbaking so you don’t lose the moisture.

Transfer the pan to a wire rack to cool in the pan for 10 minutes; then turn the loaf out of the pan to cool completely.

Enjoy plain or with peanut butter, honey, or any other toppings you can dream up.

YUM!

One thought on “broken bones & some good banana bread.

  1. Aw lady! Having fought stress fractures and suffered through the boot more than once, I feel your pain. Sending you thoughts of healing! Take care of yourself!

Leave a Reply

