sunday dinner recipes.

I’m having a few friends over on Sunday for dinner… in part because it’s always fun to get some of my favorite people together, but it’s also a good way to use the surplus of cheese I have in my fridge. (And I think my body & my friends would love me more if I shared some of the cheese rather than eating it all myself.) Thanks to the boys over at Dubliner Cheese, I now have the perfect recipe to use the huge loaf my mom bought me at Costco (this still amuses me). My friend Phil is in charge of bringing some sort of vegetable side-dish so no one falls over from a coronary, and I’m making lemon cake, served with raspberries, from the Baked NYC cookbook for dessert. All in all, it should be a yummy dinner with good friends. Recipes below. xo-m

Lemon loaf cake

Lemon loaf cake

Here’s the “Lemon Lemon Loaf” Cake recipe. It’s so lemony and delicious that it requires the word lemon twice. I’ve condensed it for my fingers’ sake, but you’ll easily get the idea. You know, add wet ingredients to dry ones, etc.
Yields 2 (9-5-3-inch) loaves, so halve the recipe if you only want one. They DO freeze well without the glaze, so I find it’s worth it to make 2.
Cake:
1 1/2 C cake flour
1 1/2 C all purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
2 1/4 C sugar
8 large eggs @ room temp.
1/4 C grated lemon zest (from about 4 lemons)
1/4 C fresh lemon juice
2 C (4 sticks) unsalted butter, melted and cooled
1/2 C sour cream @ room temp.
2 tsp. vanilla extract
Lemon Syrup:
1/4 C fresh lemon juice
1/3 C sugar
Lemon Glaze (optional; I don’t usually make this because the cake with the syrup is sweet and lemony enough without it):
2 C confectioners’ sugar, more if needed
4-6 Tbl. lemon juice

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray sides and bottom of the 2 loaf pans with nonstick cooking spray. Line bottom with parchment paper, and spray the paper.
Sift flours, baking powder, baking soda, & salt together in bowl.
Mix sugar, eggs, lemon zest, and lemon juice. Drizzle the butter in and mix. (I used a hand-held mixer for these steps.) Add sour cream and vanilla; mix until combined.
Fold dry mixture, a third at a time, into wet mix. Fold in gently; do not over-mix.
Divide batter evenly between 2 pans. Bake in center of oven for 20 mins., rotate pans, and reduce oven temp. to 325 degrees. Bake another 30-35 minutes, or until toothpick inserted into center of load comes out clean. Let cool in pan for 15 mins.
To make the syrup:
Heat lemon juice and sugar until sugar is dissolved. Cook for 3 more minutes. Remove from heat; set aside.
Take loaves out of pans, and place on a sheet lined with parchment paper. Brush the tops and sides with the lemon syrup. Let the syrup soak into the cake, and then brush again. Let cakes cool completely, at least 30 mins. Yum!
And if you really want to make the glaze after all the work above, I commend you:
Whisk confectioners’ sugar and 4 Tbl lemon juice. If mixture is too stiff, add more juice. If too runny, add more sugar. You get the idea. Pour over the top of each loaf, and let it drip down the sides.
Voila! Share with friends, and enjoy!

Lemon & Fennel Risotto with Saffron & Dubliner Irish Cheese. Photo from dublinercheese.ie.

Lemon & Fennel Risotto with Saffron & Dubliner Irish Cheese. Photo from dublinercheese.ie.

Lemon and Fennel Risotto with Saffron and Dubliner Irish Cheese

Asparagus Salad from 101cookbooks

Asparagus Salad from 101cookbooks

Asparagus Salad

Leave a Reply

