vegetable kabobs.

I have some family in town from Virginia, and last night we used the bbq for every dish (minus the pie for dessert). We went to the farmers market for the ingredients, and I think this is my new favorite way to prepare vegetables. If only I had a barbeque… Enjoy these kabobs. Perfect for summer. xo-m

I wish we had leftovers.

I wish we had leftovers.

Use whatever vegetables you have on hand. We used:
2 yellow bell peppers
2 red bell peppers
handful of cherry tomatoes
1 onion
1 eggplant
2 zucchini
2 yellow squash (what are these called again?)
Mushrooms (a small carton)

Slice the vegetables into thick enough slices (I’m trying to avoid using the word ‘chunks.’ It’s my least favorite word in the English language) so they won’t fall off the skewers. Marinate the vegetables in the following marinade for a few hours:

1/3 C olive oil
1/4 C balsamic vinegar
3 garlic cloves, minced
Freshly ground pepper to taste
Kosher salt to taste
3 sprigs of thyme, leaves only

As they’re marinating, soak bamboo skewers in water. This will prevent them from catching on fire and ruining your dinner.

I can’t remember how long we grilled these vegetables. Maybe a few minutes a side. They’re done with they’re a slightly charred but not burned. Take them off when they get a little black. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

