amy sedaris’ cupcakes.

I love this woman, and I love her cupcakes. That sounds sexual, and I’m okay with that. She runs a little cupcake & cheese ball business from her NYC apartment, owns a rabbit, has an invisible boyfriend, and carves wooden bongs that are shaped like squirrels. I’m crushing hard. These cupcakes were voted 2nd best by New York Magazine. I don’t know who did the voting.

Amy & her cakes

Amy & her cakes

Here’s the recipe.

Beat:
1 ½ sticks of unsalted butter
1 ¾ cups of sugar

Add sprinkles. Even cupcakes like to look pretty.

Add sprinkles. Even cupcakes like to look pretty.

Add the following:
2 large eggs
2 teaspoons of pure vanilla
½ teaspoon of salt
2 ½ teaspoons of baking powder
2 ½ cups of flour
1 ¼ cups of milk

Beat well, fill cups, and bake at 375 degrees for 18-20 minutes. You should get 24. I get 18. I’m probably doing something wrong, or I’m greedy.

Frosting
1 box of Domino confectionary sugar
¼ cup half-and-half
1 teaspoon of pure vanilla

Whip for a while; color if you want.

2 thoughts on “amy sedaris’ cupcakes.

  1. Oh my gosh! I wrote down this recipe when you posted it, and finally got around to making them today. Molly, they are the first thing I’ve ever made from scratch that turned out well. I slung a little strawberry sauce on the tops, and they were gone in minutes. I love all your recipes. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

