croque madame.

I made a croque madame this morning while reading about the guillotine; I felt like a Francophile with a bit of a dark bent. And bad bed hair (think Rod Stewart).

This was less a masochistic endeavor and more me trying to coax my knowledge about the French Revolution out of the sleepy corners of my mind prior to meeting with a student who’s reading that dreadful book A Tale of Two Cities. (Dickens was paid by the word! Doesn’t this make you feel cynical when you read it?) I figured I needed to get up to speed on the guillotine and the Revolution if I’m to be any real help. Reading historical fiction about Marie Antoinette hasn’t taught me anything worth passing on to this student, aside from what a fabulous life she had (for a while). And also, King Louis was probably impotent.

I made a croque madame because they’re a delicious sandwich that can be eaten for breakfast, lunch, or dinner. With its fancy name and tastiness, the croque madame quells your fears about health. And then you croak! Ha! Did you get that pun? Really? It was bad. Now I’m going to stop rambling. xo, m

I wonder if Marie Antoinette ever ate this.

I wonder if Marie Antoinette ever ate a croque madame. It doesn't say in this book.

Croque Madame

Makes 2 sandwiches (one for you & one for your French lover)

(Note: add ham to make a Croque Monsieur)
4 slices sourdough bread, sliced 1/2-3/4 inch thick
4 ounces Gruyere cheese, sliced into 1/16-inch thick slices
1 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
1 large garlic clove, sliced in half (not a traditional ingredient, but mmm! this makes the sandwiches even tastier)
salt, to taste
pepper, to taste

Butter bread and place slices buttered side down. Cover with cheese slices (and ham, if that’s your thing). Place the top slice of bread over the ham, buttered side up. Grill sandwiches on a skillet or one of those fancy panini makers. This should only take 2-3 minutes. While warm, rub both sides with a fresh clove of garlic.
Fry the eggs. Put one on top of each sandwich. Sprinkle w/ salt & pepper, and eat! Avoid cholesterol the rest of the day.

Photo from here.

4 thoughts on “croque madame.

  1. I remember learning about these from Madame Davis (pronounced Day-vee, so French) in high school…

Leave a Reply

