comfort food.

childhood delight

Remember putting raspberries on your fingertips and plucking them off one by one? I still do this every raspberry season, and it puts a smile on my face and a freshly-painted glow on my finger tips. I like eating things with my hands, and I like licking my fingers. It seems almost primitive, and it’s a small pleasure in which we adults indulge too infrequently.

Keridwen Cornelius (what a name) of Gastronomica magazine puts it best:

“Eating with your hands is a sensuous indulgence. It’s getting soaked in a monsoon, taking your shoes off, and squishing wet sand between your toes.”

All of the foods below are finger-licking tasty and best eaten without a fork and a knife. That to me is comfort food. Links to recipes appear after photos. xo, m

P.S. Is it weird that I’m 24, and I’m excited about seeing Twilight tonight? Nothing like sexual tension, vampires, and werewolves on a Friday night.

tarragon & shallot egg salad

the prettiest tiny cupcakes

grilled cheese with escarole

Irish coffee and whiskey biscuits

garlic & herb bread twists

potato samosas

margherita pizza

the perfect little sandwich

Egg Salad Sandwiches
Lemon Sandwiches with Blueberries
Potato Samosas
Irish Coffee Crunchies
Tiny Fudge Cupcakes
Grilled Cheese with Onion Jam & Escarole
Garlic & Herb Bread Twists
Margherita Pizza

4 thoughts on “comfort food.

  1. I was told once that the reason some cultures traditionally eat all foods with their hands (think dal in India) is because it actually aids in digestion — the skin’s sensors can send a message to the brain and then the stomach that lets the stomach know the temperature of the food so that the gastric juices can do their thing efficiently. Interesting, no?

  2. Super interesting. That makes a lot of sense, actually. Thank you, lady. I wanna do some research now…

    Also, just watched 30 Rock. Hysterical.

Leave a Reply

