a breakfast for hippies.

I feared 2010 would be the year I’d become a hippy, and this morning confirmed it. I wore loose-fitting light-colored (!!!) jeans & a gray sweater from 1998 with moccasins, complete with un-washed hair and lips accidentally stained red from unpasteurized cranberry juice. And where did I go in this stunning outfit? The co-op, where I was rung up by a guy whose name tag read, “Bobcat.” Uh oh.

In a similar vain, I’m posting a breakfast recipe that stars the ultimate hippy grain: quinoa. I had this for breakfast this morning, & it was delicious and filling. This serves four, so do some math if you don’t have a lovebird over and you’re just making this for yourself. (I’m not mocking you, by the way. Last week I considered getting a cat, so… No mocking from this one.) Also, I left out the pecans. I’m not one to feel motivated to roast nuts at 9 in the morning… or ever.

And I used blueberries from my freezer instead of fresh blackberries because berries are expensive in the dead of winter. Did I even follow this recipe? Very loosely. But whatever I made turned out well, so use what you have on hand. I’m going to go put on something that counteracts this morning. Something involving leopard print. xo, m

Warm & Cinnamony Quinoa Recipe Best Eaten With Unkempt Hair & a Hemp Bracelet

1 cup organic 1% low fat milk (soymilk works too)
1 cup water
1 cup organic quinoa, (note: rinse quinoa)
2 cups fresh blackberries, organic preferred
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/3 cup chopped pecans, toasted
4 teaspoons organic agave nectar, such as Madhava brand (I used honey because I recently read an article about agave that terrified me and made me think it was the evilest thing since cornsyrup. But I’m going to do some research because agave is really delicious, and I don’t want to give it up.)

Combine milk, water, and quinoa in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil over high heat. Reduce heat to medium-low; cover and simmer 15 minutes or until most of the liquid is absorbed. Turn off heat; let stand covered 5 minutes. Stir in blackberries and cinnamon; transfer to four bowls and top with pecans. Drizzle 1 teaspoon agave nectar over each serving.
While the quinoa cooks, roast the pecans in a 350F degree toaster oven for 5 to 6 minutes or in a dry skillet over medium heat for about 3 minutes.

One thought on “a breakfast for hippies.

  1. Interest to try it: Piqued
    Motivation to make it: very low

    Are you hosting hippie breakfast anytime soon?

    I don’t have any of the above mentioned attire, but if it gives me any cred, I once dated the son of a real hippie (we’re talking raising the kids in communes, nature names, free love, you name it…)

Leave a Reply

