a song i like.

Candi Staton

Sometimes I listen to the radio in my car, & usually I listen to some cheesy Top 40 station because, let’s face it, Ludacris songs are hilarious. But I’ve stopped listening to these stations of late because I’m not a fan of Drake or that song in which the guy sings about a girl sleeping around and follows it with, “I’m trying to find the words to describe this girl without being disrespectful.” (Too late!)

I’ve changed my radio dial to the station that’s probably for people in their 40s and 50s, people who shop at REI and attended two rock concerts when they were 25, who smoked pot once or twice and loved it but stopped themselves because they felt guilty (but are “totally cool” with others doing it). [I’m well aware that I’m stereotyping this radio station’s listeners in the way that Jack Donaghey of “30 Rock” stereotypes Liz Lemon and 30-something feminists who pick up knitting for a week once every five years.]

Point is, this song came on. I’m not necessarily proud of the fact that I love it, but I do. (This band’s done a song for a car commercial, but they also toured with Tori Amos, so they have some cred. Clearly I’ve been watching too much “30 Rock;” I almost wrote “street cred.”) Mainly, I love the refrain, which features a sample from R&B legend Candi Staton’s “He Called Me Baby.” Her voice is gorgeous.

Enjoy! I’m off to jog, eat some oatmeal, vacuum, and pick Meaghan up from the airport! Woohoo! Have a fabulous week, readers! xo, m

Vodpod videos no longer available.

more about "a song i like.", posted with vodpod

Leave a Reply

