ventures into the world of french cooking.

Julia & Paul Child

Lately I’ve been obsessed with French cooking. As a vegetarian, this doesn’t exactly leave me with a whole lot of options for things to cook, but I’ve found a way, and it involves eggs, cream, & cheese.

Why this sudden venture into the world of French cuisine, you ask? It has a little something to do with Julia Child. I watched this video of her with David Letterman & giggled incessantly. She makes cooking seem even more fun to me, and I enjoy the challenge of cooking dishes I’ve yet to make. Souffles, here I come. [It could also have something to do with a wonderful meal I had at Cafe Presse last weekend with my friend Anbrit. We pretended we were in Paris for a night; it was the best.]

This week I’m going to focus heavily on French cuisine. Next week we can focus on detoxing, but for now, during this rainy week in Seattle, I’d like to focus on rich, warm, & delicious French dishes.

My new cooking bible & me

I suspect many of you have made quiches in the past. I have as well, but I normally omit some of the cream, add egg whites, or lessen the amount of cheese. In other words, I try to health-ify an inherently unhealthy dish. While these past quiches have been delicious, I don’t think I’ve ever made a true quiche, one that calls for equal parts cream & eggs. But that all changed last night at 1:30 a.m. (how dramatic!), when I whipped up this quiche for a friend & me.

Quiches are endlessly versatile, so feel free to add or omit vegetables. I do recommend that you try this quiche as is initially, however. If a quiche could be divine, this one fits the bill. As Julia Child would say, “Bon appétit!” xo, m

Onion & Cheese Quiche

Recipe adapted from Julia Child’s Mastering the Art of French Cooking

1 onion, minced (I used a yellow onion, but I suspect white is fine too)
1 Tbl butter
1 Tbl oil
1 Tbl flour
3 eggs
2/3 cup whipping cream
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
pinch of nutmeg (optional)
1/2 cup – 3/4 cup grated Swiss or sharp cheddar
An 8-inch pastry shell (I like Wholey Wholesome whole-wheat pastry shells, available in the freezer section, because they’re not sweet. Perfect for a quiche. Of course, you can make your own too.)
1 Tbl butter, cut into pea-sized dots

Cook the onions in a heavy skillet with the oil and 3 Tbl butter over low heat, stirring occasionally until they are tender & a golden yellow. About 15-20 mins.
Sprinkle with the flour, mix well, and cook slowly for another 2-3 mins. Allow to cool slightly.
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.
Beat the eggs in a mixing bowl with the cream & seasonings until blended. Gradually mix in the onions and half the cheese. Pour into tart shell. Spread the rest of the cheese and distribute the butter over it. Bake in the upper third of preheated oven for 25-30 mins. until quiche has puffed & browned.

Leave a Reply

