plantains!

One of my favorite restaurants in New York is a small Cuban restaurant tucked in the heart of the West Village. It’s on Christopher St, and you’ll hear the music a block away. Simply put, go there. If you can’t, read below, and we’ll eat plantain chips & sip on mojitos together.

My third favorite thing about this restaurant are its plantain chips. The first and second are the cocktails and waiters, respectively, and sadly, I can’t recreate either of those for you here on this blog. What I can do is give you a mean recipe for plantain chips that I’m about to cook up myself.

I’ve gone a little plantain crazy lately. I’m always intrigued by vegetables and fruits with which I’m less familiar, so expect a few more plantain recipes to come. I left caution to the wind and bought 6 huge plantains today. They’re amusingly phallic, and they’re sitting on my kitchen counter, so I better make some plantain dishes before I laugh too much to take this fruit seriously. xo, m

Plantain Chips

Recipe adapted from Cooking Light

Plantain Chips

1 tablespoon olive oil (plus more as needed)
2 medium plantains, peeled and cut into 1/4-inch diagonal slices (about 2 cups)
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium heat. Add the plantain slices; cook 3 minutes on each side or until browned. Sprinkle salt and pepper over chips. Serve with salsa or guacamole or eat these little plain janes on their own.

Note: these are “healthy” plantain chips. To make the chips crispier, make sure to slice them finely and let them brown enough on each side. Alternatively, you can use more oil, but don’t fry them too much; you’ll lose that wonderfully unique plantain flavor.
Leave a Reply

