sugar overload –> vegetables needed.

It's probably difficult to differentiate between this M.S.' blog and mine. The difference is that she doesn't post Def Leppard songs. Problem solved!

Prologue:

From this post on, a song will accompany each recipe I post. The song will be something I’ve listened to while making the particular dish or it’ll have some tenuous relevance that makes me giggle but might make you cringe. Occasionally, I place my own amusement in higher regard than your enjoyment, but I’ll try to take you into account when I post songs because a blog is a public sphere, and I like you.

Cooking for me is a loud affair, and that’s partly why I love it. I blast music in the kitchen; I sing along, often heinously; and I’ve caught myself using a whisk as a mic. It’s part of my ritual of cooking, and I think it’s time I share it on here with all you foodies! Music makes cooking so much more fun.

The Real Post:

Confession: I’ve been eating too much sugar lately, and it’s making me feel like crap. I don’t want to hate on sugar. There are good songs about it; it’s delicious; and usually we have a nice, balanced relationship. But it’s time we separate for a while.

I’ve been baking a lot lately as a nice past-time when I’m not studying. And then there’s all that Easter candy my mom gave me and told me was from the Easter bunny as though I’m still 5. Every year I find this as endearing as the previous year.

So what to do about the sugar overload? For starters, I ran today. Then I ate a healthy salad with black beans because they’re known to lower one’s blood sugar level. Wiki that! I promise it’s true. I think a broccoli dish is in order too because it’s what I have in my fridge, and parmesan and lemon make such excellent bedfellows.

Here’s a healthy vegetable dish if you need to get back on track after all that Easter candy too. xo, m

Roasted Broccoli with Parmesan & Lemon

Serves 4 as a side dish
broccoli

This plus parmesan = delicious + good for you

3 heads broccoli
3 tablespoons olive oil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano or less depending on how rich you want this dish to be (and that’s not a passive aggressive way of saying, “Cut down the calories”)
1 lemon, juiced

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.
Trim about 1 inch off the ends of the broccoli stalks, and cut the broccoli lengthwise into spears. Arrange the broccoli on a nonstick baking sheet; drizzle with some olive oil; and season with a little bit of salt and a generous amount of freshly ground black pepper. Toss to coat evenly. Transfer to the oven and roast for 10 minutes.
Remove the broccoli from the oven and sprinkle the cheese evenly over the top and bake until the cheese melt and forms a crisp shell over the broccoli, about 10 minutes. Lift the broccoli out onto a platter with a spatula, and drizzle with fresh lemon.

Janna and I sang along with and danced to this song at a party we crashed weeks ago. I was eating so much sugar earlier in the week that I may as well have been singing this song at all times to those around me.

One thought on “sugar overload –> vegetables needed.

Leave a Reply

