asparagus with tamari & garlic.

We’re entering asparagus season!

My older brother prepares asparagus in the best way possible. He tosses it with soy sauce and a dash of olive oil and grills it on the barbeque (side note: he’s the only one in my family who doesn’t burn everything he puts on the bbq. Oh, Dad…). This asparagus is so good that my younger cousins have gone back for seconds. That speaks volumes because children usually react to asparagus the way I react to cheeze whiz (read: with horror).

Because I don’t have a grill and it’s not that warm out yet, I’ve adapted Matt’s version slightly. I used Tamari instead of soy sauce because it has a slightly stronger flavor, and roasting can never compare to the wonderful smoky flavor that a grill imparts. This is my attempt to make up for it and add a little somethin’ somethin’. (Too much L.L. Cool J lately. Sorry, guys.)

I’ve also added garlic & a dash of kosher salt to add more flavor. Go light on the salt because Tamari is already pretty sodium-rich.xo, m

Asparagus with Tamari & Garlic

Serves 4 as a side dish

1 lb. asparagus, rough ends removed (My grandma taught me that when you break asparagus, it’ll naturally break at the toughest point. Discard what rips off, and use the other bits.)

~ 2 Tbl. Tamari
~ 1 Tbl. olive oil or canola oil
3 garlic cloves chopped roughly
Kosher salt
Freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Put asparagus on a baking sheet or pan in a single layer (I am a hypocrite; see photo). Pour oil and tamari over the asparagus, and scatter the garlic. Add kosher salt and pepper to taste. Bake for around 15-20 minutes until asparagus still has a bite to it but isn’t tough. And if you like that charred taste, use the broiler for the last 2 minutes. But watch closely; broilers are precarious.

Leave a Reply

