sick day!

Good morning, chickadees. I was hoping to have a lovely Sunday filled with some studying and sunshine. When I awoke, however, I found that the tiny bit of sunshine that came through the blinds gave me a headache. And I had a cough, an aching head, and overwhelming exhaustion that signifies to me that I am… sick and a tad overworked.

I’m not nearly old or curmudgeonly enough to complain about my “declining” health (isn’t that what the old + curmudgeonly say?), so I’ll tell you what I’m going to do with my sick day instead. Because really, it’s going to be quite fun, I think. xo, m

1. “The Wire.” Have you seen this show yet? If you haven’t, hop to. It’s about police + drugs + Baltimore +  a hot (but totally egotistical and unethical) cop named McNolty who I find equal parts sexy and revolting. More important than McNolty’s hotness is the show’s commentary on Baltimore’s drug scene and the sociopolitical landscape that contributes to (and in many respects, creates) it. A truly brilliant + fascinating show.

2. Matzo ball soup. I fell in love with this soup when I lived in NYC, and I think it’s one of the most comforting, healing dishes on the planet. Here’s a great recipe from Whole Foods. Granted, I may just use a mix because I’m tired. But this is the real thing.

Roasted Root Vegetable Matzo Ball Soup

Serves 4 to 6

4 carrots, cut into 1-inch pieces
2 parsnips, cut into 1-inch pieces
1 small rutabaga or turnip, cut into 1-inch pieces
3 cloves garlic
1 medium yellow onion, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
4 eggs, beaten
1/4 cup butter or Earthbalance, melted
1 cup matzo meal
1 tablespoon chopped chives
8 cups low-sodium vegetable broth
3 tablespoons chopped dill
2 tablespoons chopped flat-leaf parsley

Preheat oven to 400°F. Place carrots, parsnips, rutabaga, garlic and onion on a large baking sheet and toss with oil and salt and pepper. Roast until golden brown and tender, about 30 minutes. Remove from oven and set aside to cool.

Meanwhile, put eggs, vegan butter substitute, salt and pepper into a bowl and blend well. Mix in matzo meal and chives, then cover and refrigerate for 1 hour.

Bring a pot of water to boil just before removing matzo mixture from refrigerator. Once water boils, wet hands and form walnut-size balls out of matzo mixture, dropping each one into the boiling water immediately. Once all balls have been dropped into the pot, turn heat down, cover and gently simmer for 30 minutes.

While matzo balls are simmering, bring vegetable broth, dill and parsley to a boil in a separate pot. Boil for 1 minute, then turn down heat to a simmer and add roasted vegetables. Once matzo balls are done, use a slotted spoon to transfer them to simmering broth. Simmer for 15 minutes, then adjust seasonings with salt and pepper. Ladle soup into bowls and serve.

Leave a Reply

