lullaby.

[lmt-5-1.jpg]

One of my favorite forms of music is the lullaby. My music collection rivals my book collection, but I don’t often talk about lullabies because they’re rarely, if ever, relevant to contemporary music culture, so I was pleasantly surprised to hear one on this album.

Lullabies can be found in every culture, and there’s evidence that they were sung in Ancient Greece. I love that they have a clear purpose– to help a child or loved one fall asleep– and that their nature is inherently soothing, even when the lyrics are a little sad. If I weren’t so tired, I’d love to discuss the history of lullabies here because it’s fascinating.

Here are the lyrics from my new favorite lullaby for you, adults, and the song follows. I think it’s just gorgeous. It reminds me of a choral song I love. xo, m

If You Can’t Sleep

by She & Him (Zooey Deschanel & M. Ward)

If you can’t sleep, I’ll be there in your dreams
I’ll be there in your dreams, if you can’t sleep at all
And in your dreams, I’ll touch your cheek
And lay my head on your shoulder

Goodbye, shadows

You’re far away if you can’t see my face
If the world is cold, but the sun shines the same
Shut your eyes
There are bluer skies
For your embrace to my heart

Goodbye, shadows

If you can’t sleep, I’ll be there in your dreams
I’ll be there in your dreams, if you can’t sleep at all
And in your dreams, I’ll touch your cheek
And lay my head on your shoulder

Leave a Reply

