flowers, truffles, + waterfalls.

How was your weekend, readers?

Mine involved hikes and mimomas and an out of town visitor who gave me the pretty tulips below. I bought the peonies last week, when the price finally dropped a bit, and look how beautiful they are in full bloom. Ah, peonies; be still my beating heart.

There are a few other tidbits from this weekend that I should share with you because you’ll benefit. For an appetizer to accompany our cold beer on a hot day, my friend and I ordered white bean + truffle dip at one of my favorite restaurants here.

I just about oohed and awed each time I spread some on a salty cracker. Subtle, interesting, and rich, this dip is the perfect thing to serve at a cocktail party or whip up for yourself when you need a treat. You know those nights when you want to enjoy a glass of champagne and a meal all on your lonesome? (Maybe that’s just me…) Make this. You’ll feel as rich and glamorous as Marilyn Monroe (I know I did).

White Bean Truffle Dip

400g can of cannellini beans, drained (Dried beans that are soaked tend to be tenderer and more flavorful than canned beans, but if you’re pressed for time, used canned)
2 cloves of garlic, peeled and crushed
1 to 2 Tablespoon truffle oil (If you use 2, use less olive oil accordingly)
1/4 cup olive oil – give or take
Salt to taste
Optional: 2 dashes smoked paprika [if you don’t have smoked, use regular]

Put the beans and garlic in a blender and whiz until everything is well blended and you have a thick purée. Next, transfer the mixture into a large bowl and, while stirring, add the olive oil and truffle oil in a thin stream making sure it is well incorporated. Serve with crudités, grissini, bruschetta, or crostini.

And here’s where we hiked: Twin Falls. It was so beautiful, and I made myself run a good portion of the trail, so I felt awesome and exhausted by the end of the afternoon. We saw chipmunks and funny kids with walkee talkees. So fun. xo, m

Leave a Reply

