new blog name!

Now that my blog is over a year old (it grew up so fast!), it’s taken on a new direction. What started as a collection of recipes and poetry has evolved into a record of what makes me happy and brings me joy.

Years ago when I worked in finance in Dublin, a boss of mine, who knew my passion wasn’t numbers, said to me that I possessed “joie de vivre,” a zest and passion for life.

This is the most meaningful and surprising compliment I’ve ever received because I haven’t always been happy (in fact, there have been times when I’ve been very unhappy), and I wrongly associated passion, zest, and even joy with happiness. His words struck me as ironic at best, inaccurate at worst, and initially I didn’t believe or understand him.

I see now that a passion for life doesn’t always imply happiness or satisfaction. It means trying, avoiding passivity, pursuing joy with fierceness and zest, and encouraging and fostering the joy and passion in others. Intensity and passion are integral to the experience of being enraptured with joy. As I pursue my masters in teaching, my joy and passion have been piqued.

And so, I bring you my new blog title: Joie de Vivre.

The content will remain the same, but I wanted the sense of joy I feel when I write to become more prominent. Everything I share and write about brings me some joy, and I hope it does for you too. lv, molly

A long time Ago: Margaret Durow | Icon_ology

Leave a Reply

