cake + the weekend.

First things first, a boy took me to see one act versions of some Shel Silverstein poems. I’m sort of giddy over it. It was so much better than that date where the guy brought his mom or the one where the guy said, “I like older women like you.” (Yes, both actually happened.)

I digress…

What are you up to this weekend? I’m feeling very happy this morning. I think I’ll go for a run, read To Kill A Mockingbird, and go out to dinner with friends. And I’ll listen to the song below. It’s hard to listen to “The Dog Days Are Over” and not feel happy; it makes me wish I had a trampoline.

On Tuesday we’re having a potluck at a professor’s house to celebrate the end of the quarter, and I signed up to bring dessert. When asked what I’d bring, I said I’d probably bring an unstable cake– not chemically unstable, mind you, just oddly tall and maybe a little wobbly. I’ve been into making tall layered cakes lately, cakes that conjure images of the leaning tower of Pisa, imperfect cakes that have a lot of gumption.

If I make this cake with 5 layers, I think it’ll fit the bill, don’t you? Perfect for an afternoon gathering. I think I’ll serve it with fresh berries too. Have a very happy weekend, everyone! Expect a healthy, non-boozy non-sugary recipe tomorrow. lv, molly

Victoria Sponge Cake

Victoria Sponge Cake

4 lb. plus 1 tbsp. salted European-style high-fat butter, softened (unreal, I know. Don’t eat too much. Let us never speak of this again.)
3 cups plus 1 tbsp. self-rising cake flour
1 1⁄2 cups granulated sugar
4 eggs
1 1⁄4 cups double Devon cream
3⁄4 cup high-quality strawberry jam
Confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 360º. Grease two 2″-deep 8″ round cake pans with 1/2 tbsp. butter each. Dust each with 1/2 tbsp. flour; set aside.
Beat remaining butter in a large bowl with an electric mixer on high speed for 5 minutes. Add granulated sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Combine eggs and 6 tbsp. water in another bowl. Add half the egg mixture and half the flour to butter–sugar mixture. Beat well for 1–2 minutes. Add remaining egg mixture and flour; beat batter for 5 minutes.
Divide batter between prepared pans. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of cakes comes out clean, 35–40 minutes. Invert cakes onto a rack, remove pans, and let cool completely.
Beat cream in a medium bowl until stiff. Put 1 cake layer on a cake plate, spread top with half the jam, then cover jam with the cream. Spread top of remaining cake layer with remaining jam and place it, jam side down, on top of cream. Dust cake with confectioners’ sugar.

Photo via Unruly Things.

One thought on “cake + the weekend.

Leave a Reply

