quinoa, cards, & vespers.

Happy Sunday! Here I am with a big cup of poorly brewed coffee and a deck of cards playing solitaire. I’m liking this day already. How’s your weekend been treating you? I had fun with Gavin and got in a fight with a golfer. Success.

picture-19

I had the most fun evening with my friend Gavin. We ate fresh radishes that were spicy, tender little bits of heaven; then we drank Vespers (James Bond’s preferred drink, duh) and had fascinating discussions about Belfast, his home town, and shoes and relationships. I love that Gavin. I can’t get over the view at his new place– the mountains, the Space Needle, even a sneak preview of the Puget Sound.

Yesterday also marks the day when I found myself in an unpleasant altercation with a golfer. My jogging past him apparently disrupted his shot or other such nonsense, and hilarity ensued. Though I’m itching to tell you all the details, I’m going to keep my mouth zipped a little longer because the internet is, well, not exactly a haven of privacy. Not that I did anything bad (I didn’t), but you know…

And lastly… Here it is, as promised! Your non-boozy, non-sugary recipe. For someone who’s concerned about health, I haven’t been as health-conscious as I’d like to this week. I’ve been going for runs and bike rides, but because I’ve been crazy busy, I haven’t been cooking as much as I’d prefer. It’s left me feeling a little sluggish, so I’m looking forward to eating a lot of fruits and vegetables today.

[Side note. Come Tuesday, I’m going to be cooking like nobody’s business with Janna during our sojourn to Whidbey Island. Yes, sojourn. We’re planning on drinking wine, going for walks on the beach, and doing something with glitter. We have already discussed this plan in about as much detail, and I think it’s going to be a wonderful few days. Expect a lot of delicious recipes later in the week when she and I return.]

This is one of my favorite recipes. Sadly, I don’t have a photo, so here’s a photo of quinoa. I don’t feel like enumerating on its amazing nutritional value, so read up here. Happy cooking, and enjoy your Sunday! lv, molly

Quinoa Pilaf with Spinach, Apples,  & Walnuts

1 1/2 cups quinoa
3 cups vegetable broth
salt
2 Tbl extra-virgin olive oil
3 scallions, minced
1/2 cup chopped walnuts
10 ounces fresh baby spinach
Freshly ground black pepper
1 apple, halved, cored, and diced

Variation: in the summer, I make this without cooking the spinach, apples, scallions, or walnuts. Once the quinoa is cooked, I just add all of the other ingredients and stir. It’s a great dish to bring to a barbeque or picnic.

Rinse the quinoa, drain, and set aside. Bring broth to boil in a saucepan. Decrease the heat to low; add salt if you fancy; and stir in the quinoa. Cover and simmer until all the broth has been absorbed, about 15 minutes.
While the quinoa is cooking, heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the scallions and walnuts, and cook for about 2 minutes. Add the spinach, and season to taste with salt and pepper. Cover and cook until wilted, about 4 minutes. Then add the apple and cook for 5 minutes more. Stir in the cooked quinoa.

2 thoughts on “quinoa, cards, & vespers.

  1. Pingback: friday favorites. « joie de vivre

  2. Pingback: veggie thanksgiving! « joie de vivre!

Leave a Reply

