cast iron, frittatas, + urban living.

Today I bought myself two mini cast iron dishes because they’re cute and small, and I love eating food out of the cookware in which it was cooked. Why? Fewer dishes to do and there’s something seemingly rustic and charming about it. Or maybe that’s just me.

The writers over at The Kitchn point out that cast iron cookware cooks more evenly than other metals, can be used in the oven or over a burner (hello, versatility), and when properly seasoned, cast iron skillets are nonstick without the Teflon coating that will apparently give you cancer some day. For more on the science of it, go here.

Not surprisingly, I’m more interested in the aesthetics of these little pans and how delicious they’ll make my food. Here they are in all their mini glory. Mock as you see fit (I don’t remember the last time I gave a thumbs up), and yes, I store my bike in my kitchen. The joys of urban living.

Tonight I’m going to use these to make a friend and myself some frittatas using whatever I have on hand. Here’s a basic recipe that I tend to follow whenever I make frittatas. Vary it depending on the number of guests. Happy cast iron cooking! lv, molly

Basic Frittata

2 to 10 large or extra-large eggs
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1 to 3 tablespoons low-fat milk
1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
The filling of your choice; tonight I’m using a zucchini, spinach, and a little cheese, me thinks

Beat the eggs. Stir in the salt, pepper, and the filling.
Heat the olive oil in a skillet (use a larger skillet if you’re using more eggs, obviously). When the oil is hot (usually about 4 minutes), pour the egg mixture into the pan. Move the pan around a bit so the eggs and filling are evenly distributed. Let cook for several minutes; then shake the pan a bit to let the uncooked egg move to the bottom of the pan and cook. If you’re using 10 eggs, make sure you use a 12 inch cast iron skillet, and cook with a lid over it for 5 minutes or so before shaking the pan. Large frittatas will need more time to cook.
Heat the broiler, and cook the frittata for another 2 minutes, until lightly browned on top. Voila! Serve with a simple green salad or some fruit.

Leave a Reply

