breakfast.

Just because I’m sick doesn’t mean I can’t cook. This A.M. I made my favorite breakfast: baked eggs with spinach.

On a normal day, I use egg whites, minimal cheese, and no milk/ cream. Basically, I make the healthy version. Today? Not so much. My leg hurts, and I’m going to do whatever I want. lv, molly

Baked Eggs with Spinach + Chives


1 tsp oil or butter
Eggs (I use 2 egg whites and 1 whole egg)
5 chive sprigs or whatever you call them, finely chopped
1 Tbl half and half or cream
Handful of fresh baby spinach
3 thin slices of sharp cheddar or gruyere
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat the broiler.
Pour 1 tsp oil or butter into a small (3″) cast iron pan. Then crack the eggs into it; stir in the spinach; and cook on low-medium heat on the stove top until the bottom of the eggs have cooked and set a little. Remove from heat. Add cream; place slices of cheese on top; and sprinkle with chives and salt/ pepper to taste.
Place pan in oven, and broil until cheese is melted; eggs are set; and your kitchen smells amazing. About 3-5 minutes.

Leave a Reply

