daniel day lewis, string quartets, + pryzbylewski.

Today marks day 5 of lying in bed with a hurt leg. I’m not complaining, mind you. The first day was painful but not entirely bad; I ate soup and watched movies with the foolhardy knowledge that health was soon upon me. Enumerating on health problems reminds me of two old people in an elevator talking about hip replacements, so I try to avoid it.

The point of this post is to share what I’ve done over the past few days that may be of interest to you, which is, almost exclusively, watch movies, attempt to finish a Zadie Smith book, drink vegetable broth, and dream of pain killers. The movie part is most interesting. Sadly, I don’t have any recipes to share or fashion advice to give because I’ve done very little cooking, and I’ve worn plaid pajama pants every day. I hardly feel qualified to give out suggestions on either topic.

Yesterday was the day when severe boredom set in, which prompted me to watch a THREE HOUR movie: The Unbearable Lightness of Being with the always handsome and brilliant Daniel Day Lewis and the ever-charming and equally brilliant Juliette Binoche. I drifted in and out of sleep as it played in the background, and what I did see was incredibly beautiful– a wonderful adaptation of one of my favorite books, a book I never thought could be translated well into a movie.

So here’s what I watched the past few days. Judge accordingly. They were available on Netflix instant stream or they were brought over by my neighbor who has a penchant for Asian horror movies (she’s tiny, adorable, and works for J. Crew; this makes it more amusing to me). For someone who prides herself on being active, this litany of movies watched in 5 days is astonishing, amusing, and mildly unsettling. lv, molly

* The Unbearable Lightness of Being: See above. A-. One of the sexiest and saddest and most beautiful films I’ve ever seen. Review here.

Yellowstone. BBC documentary with plenty of dramatic narration, beautiful cinematography, foxes, interesting information, and string quartets. Exactly what I like in nature documentaries. A.

* World’s Greatest Dad. Dark, cynical, well-written-ish satire. B-. Title is ironic at best; now you know what it’s about. Parts of the film are poignant, though the ending is a copout. Really depressing. Are you sure you want to watch it? Review here.

* Season 4 of The Wire.” I finished it this week and am still stunned. BRILLIANT. This season highlights what I’m beginning to realize as I spend more and more time in schools; standardized tests don’t help kids learn, and they don’t allow teachers to teach. I suppose I already knew that on some level, but seeing kids’ eyes glaze over and heads fall on their desks have made me realize that testing’s not simply an unfortunate reality of education– it’s a travesty. Back to the show… the writers and actors are incredibly talented. I don’t have TV or cable, but if this show were still on, I may consider it, pending a review of my finances.

* A Tale of Two Sisters. Of the scary movies we watched, this one made me squeal and think the most, so I’m not going to list the others. B+. There’s a surprising amount of complexity that you don’t understand until the end (and even then, don’t really understand). If you’ve read folk tales and you’re interested in psychology, this is a good one to see. Review here.

Youth in Revolt. Michael Cera like you’ve seen him in every other movie, which is why I’m posting a picture of him in Juno; it’s almost irrelevant. I don’t think I need to say anything more about it, but Roger Ebert did here.

Ellen Page and Michael Cera in Fox Searchlight's Juno

* The Class. Oscar winner: Best Foreign Language Film. This is one I can’t wait to see. I’ll let you know. Rave review here.

the-class-(entre-les-murs)-35328

2 thoughts on “daniel day lewis, string quartets, + pryzbylewski.

    • I thought the film was brilliant, but I thought the teacher in the film failed his students in a whole host of ways I can’t wait to discuss with you during a phone chat! Afterwards, I felt compelled to make a list of things I want to avoid in the classroom (not validating students’ strengths, engaging in arguments that belittled students, assuming that I can speak disrespectfully because I’m the teacher, etc.). I like that he pushed students to think harder, but I think most of the time he was belittling.

      … and I absolutely blamed him for Souleymane’s outburst and his ensuing expulsion. Much to discuss!

      Though I loved the self-portrait assignment and when he hung Souleymane’s on the wall. Ah, I could go on!

Leave a Reply

