100+ meals in 15 minutes.

When we’re busy, cooking good meals is often the first past-time we abandon, and I hope to avoid that this year. Cooking healthy, whole foods adds joy to my life and makes me feel happier, more energetic, and appreciative of the wonderful foods available in the Pacific Northwest.

While I’m not fan of rushing through cooking Rachel Ray-style, I’m also realistic. I’m about to start student teaching, and my schedule will soon be zapped of most of its free time. Finding healthy, quick meals to cook is on my radar. What are your favorite go-to recipes when you’re in a pinch?

Here are a few of my favorite sites for ideas for good meals that are feasible for the busiest among us. Another plus? Most require inexpensive ingredients.

Check out The Kitchn’s recent article “10 Meals to Make in 15 Minutes or Less.” The plus side? Most are vegetarian.

Mark Bittman has some great ideas here on his blog “The Minimalist.” 101 ideas, in fact, and most could easily be adapted to suit a vegetarian or vegan diet. I love the simple narrative style of recipes, as well. This is likely the most helpful site when you’re too sleepy to go to the store and you have to rely on what’s already in your pantry + fridge.

Martha Stewart’s healthy, meatless main dishes are also worth a look. While these recipes require more time than the other links I’ve listed, the rice bowl with miso dressing looks so delicious.

And last but not least, Food and Wine’s easy weekday meal slideshow.

Leave a Reply

