gen. y.

Have you read the New York Times article “What Is It About 20-Somethings?” I didn’t read it in its entirety, perhaps because I am a 20-something… and articles of that nature often strike me as pedantic and condescending. I’ve also been absolutely delighted to read fiction again, so that article is going in the “read in the future” pile that’s taken over my living room. Have you read it? What did you think?

What did strike me as interesting, however, were the photos that accompanied the article. 13 young photographers were asked to capture the spirit of our generation using iPhones. While I think the conceit is a little contrived, I love the photos.

Though the collection doesn’t capture the complexity of a generation, I do think several of the photos are quite beautiful. And upon looking at one or two, I thought, That’s us; those are my friends and me. To see the full collection of photos, click here.

Do you think the photos capture the identity of this generation? What might you include? lv, molly

Leave a Reply

