alexa chung for madewell.

Alexa Chung for Madewell Betty Tea Dress
The posts lately have been pretty meager due to the disappearance of a little something called Free Time. I miss it. But I love teaching, so I can’t complain.

Any who, if you’re like me, you eagerly awaited Alexa Chung’s collection at Madewell. I stopped by the shop today to have a look in person, and I swooned upon entering. Polka dots! Flirty dresses! Velvet! Everything I love in one collection. Sadly, it’s expensive and appears to be designed for women whose thighs have the circumference of my wrist.

I tried on the white polka dot dress pictured above, however, and it looked like a million bucks. It also cost a million bucks, which is why it’s not hanging proudly in my little closet.

The verdict? Some of the pieces are adorable and nicely tailored. BUT, given the quality and fit of the overall collection, I say you’re better off shopping at your local thrift-store. Many of the designs are reincarnations of vintage favorites anyway, so you’re likely to find something equally as adorable if you’re willing to do a little thrifting. Still… I couldn’t resist posting pictures of a few of my favorite pieces. lv, molly

Alexa Chung for Madewell Lydia Coat

Alexa Chung for Madewell Annie Blouse

Leave a Reply

