pancake delivery.

First and foremost, do not be afraid of butter. Pancakes need butter.

I made blueberry buttermilk pancakes this morning to take to my pancake-loving-brother’s for his birthday. I’m going to knock loudly and enthusiastically chant, “Pancake delivery!” He and his neighbors will no doubt be charmed.

My friend Shayne and I are both dedicated followers of Smitten Kitchen recipes, but Deb’s recipe for buttermilk pancakes turns out way too liquidy. I’ve tweaked the recipe significantly to try to find the right balance of wet to dry ingredients, and I think I achieved it this morning. I rarely use the word perfection, but these pancakes are it. Fluffy little cakes dotted with blueberries. Mmm!

Feel free to substitute all purpose flour for whole wheat. I used whole wheat flour simply because I’d run out of regular flour… This was not an attempt at being health conscious, I can assure you. If you aren’t convinced, see the first line of this post. Enjoy your Sunday morning! lv, molly

Blueberry Buttermilk Pancakes

Serves 2 VERY hungry (possibly hungover) people or 4 regular people

1 cup whole wheat or all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. kosher salt
1 1/2 Tbl. unprocessed sugar
1 1/4 cup buttermilk* (see note)
Approx. 1 cup blueberries (frozen will suffice, but fresh are better)
Butter

*If you don’t have buttermilk on hand, which I rarely do, try the following. It works perfectly. Place a tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice in a liquid measuring cup.
Add enough milk to bring the liquid up to the one-cup line. Let stand for five minutes. And voila! You just made buttermilk.

Heat a pan or cast iron-skillet on the stovetop, medium-high. Meanwhile, whisk together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and sugar in a medium bowl. Add the egg, buttermilk, and 2 tablespoons melted butter, and whisk to combine. The batter should have small to medium lumps. Don’t overmix.
Add some butter to the pan. Pour the batter in pools 2 inches apart. Arrange a handful of blueberries over the cooking pancakes. When the pancakes have bubbles on top and are slightly dry around the edges, about 2 1/2 minutes, flip over. Cook until golden on bottom, about 1 minute. Repeat!

6 thoughts on “pancake delivery.

  1. Molly..I’d love to post a link to your site on my own. I was inspired by your kale/brown rice gratin and adapted my own version. OK if I link back to yours?? Also, we ate it so darn fast I didn’t grab a picture-if I link to your pic (and of course give you credit) would you mind? Let me know-wont post anything until I hear from you. Thanks! (you can email me directly if its easier)

    • I’m so happy you loved it! What adaptations did you make? I’d love to try them out.

      That’s perfectly fine if you link back to mine, but no need to credit me for the photo. I credited Kathryn T, whose recipe I adapted.

      Happy cooking, Jodi!

  2. Pingback: blackberry muffins. « joie de vivre

  3. Pingback: the shirelles + lemon poppyseed muffins. | joie de vivre

Leave a Reply

