blackberry muffins.

Today feels like my return to baking after a hiatus, and I can’t tell you how happy it’s made me. Without further adieu… yummy blackberry muffins, perfect for welcoming the colder weather. lv, molly

P.S. My execution of this recipe was… flawed. And by that I mean I forgot the 1/2 C brown sugar I wrote into my recipe. Because of this indiscretion, the muffins turned out less sweet than I was hoping, so I decided to slather mine in butter to make up for it (see photo). Said photo will also show that I was wearing leopard print pajamas at the time of baking; this was also a mistake.

P.P.S. Can you tell I have a large bag of frozen blackberries that I bought on a whim and am trying to use?

Blackberry Muffins

Makes about 1 1/2 dozen

Baked goods and leopard print... A good Sunday

2 C finely ground whole wheat or all-purpose flour plus 1 Tbl flour
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg
1/2 C packed brown sugar
1/4 C sugar
1/2 C sour cream or yogurt
3/4 C buttermilk (see here if you don’t have buttermilk on hand)
4 Tbsp melted butter, cooled or 4 Tbsp canola (or other flavorless) oil
1 1/4 C blackberries

DIY buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F and put liners in a non-stick muffin tin. I cut squares of parchment paper, but any cupcake liners will suffice.
Rinse the frozen berries, and let them drain in a sieve. Toss them with 1 heaping tablespoon of flour.
In a mixing bowl, whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt to evenly distribute. In another bowl, beat the egg, then whisk in the sugar, and sour cream/ yogurt. Whisk until the mixture is throughly combined; then add in the buttermilk and melted butter or oil.
Scatter the blackberries in the dry ingredients, and then add the wet ingredients. Gently fold to combine. There should not be large pockets of flour but streaks of flour are okay. Do not overmix the batter.
Divide the batter into your muffin tin with a large spoon, and bake until a toothpick or skewer inserted into the center of the muffins comes out clean, about 20 – 25 minutes. Remove them from the pan and cool on a rack.
Eat with a cup of tea or a cold glass of milk.

DIY cupcake liners that look cute + save money

Leave a Reply

