greek yogurt pancakes with blackberries.

Two weeks ago, I posted a recipe for pancakes that I claimed to be the best. I’m afraid I’m going to have to one-up myself.

Everyone knows that yogurt makes cakes moist, and it performs a similar role in these pancakes. Unbelievably light and fluffy, these pancakes almost made me cry. No, that’s not true. But hyperbole is called for here because I’m excited about happening upon a recipe that’s even better than the last… simply by trying to use up things in my fridge. Let’s be honest; that’s how I create most recipes.

The combination of yogurt, whole grains, and blackberries renders a healthy and protein-rich breakfast. Because butter is generally regarded as a pariah amongst health nuts, I decided to skip it this time and substitute Earth Balance. But use butter if you wish; it’s delicious, and lord knows I consumed copious amounts the last time I made pancakes. Happy Sunday morning! lv, molly

P.S. Shocking news: I do eat things other than pancakes! A dal and vegetable recipe are coming up tonight.

Light and Fluffy Pancakes with Blackberries

Serves 2

3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
1/4 cup water
1 egg
1/2 cup flour (I used whole grain, but use whatever you have on hand)
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 tbsp sugar
Handful of blackberries (I used frozen)

Powdered sugar, agave syrup, honey, or maple syrup for serving

Mix together the yogurt, water, and egg. Then add in the flour, baking soda and sugar.
Heat some butter or oil in a pan or on a skillet, over medium heat. Spoon the batter into the pan in heaping tablespoons.
Place several blackberries on each cooking pancake and press them in slightly.
Flip pancakes when they are bubbling on top and browned on the bottom, and brown the other side.
Turn heat to medium-low, and let the pancakes cook through. Because this batter is thicker than others, the pancakes take longer to cook than your usual variety, so don’t cook them over high heat or you’ll risk burning them.
Serve immediately. They’re fluffiest when right out of the pan.

I forgot to take a picture of the final product because I was busy eating. Oops.

One thought on “greek yogurt pancakes with blackberries.

Leave a Reply

