weeknight pasta.

A month ago, when my favorite brand of canned tomatoes went on sale at my co-op, I bought so many that it was a struggle to carry them home. Accordingly, I made more marinara sauce than anyone ever should. I never thought it’d come to this, but marinara sauce and I have to stop seeing each other for a while.

This recipe was born yesterday– the child of desperation and insatiable hunger after a 5 mile run.

It’s good for you and tasty, and it takes no more than 10 minutes (really, I’m not pulling your leg a la Rachel Ray, whose voice and made-up-words like “EVOO” annoy me… I”ll save that for another time).

Without further adieu, my new favorite go-to pasta recipe. What’s your favorite? lv, molly

Penne with Kale + Parmesan

Serves 2

2 servings of whole grain or protein-rich penne (I like Barilla’s)
5-6 kale leaves, stems removed, chopped
1 Tbl Olive oil
3 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup white wine
Pinch of red pepper flakes
Parmesan for serving

Cook the pasta according to the package’s directions. Heat the olive oil in a skillet over medium heat, and add the chopped kale and garlic. Cook until the kale is wilted– about 5-6 minutes. Add the white wine and red pepper, and cook for several more minutes. Add pasta to the pan; toss; and sprinkle with parmesan. Dinner’s ready!

Leave a Reply

