not your g-ma’s brussels sprouts.

Grandmas and old-fashioned moms have ruined brussels sprouts for thousands. Memories of boiled mush, the awful aroma, and awkward holidays with Christmas sweaters plague many of us and steer us away from ever giving brussels sprouts another chance.

But I’m on a little mission; I’m determined to save this vegetable from its negative reputation.

Imagine a roasted veggie, seasoned with olive oil and kosher salt. The roasting gives the sprouts a slight crisp, like french fries, and brings out their naturally nutty flavor. No boiled mush here. Just the best roasted vegetables you’ve ever had. Booyah!

Here’s how I do it… And to give credit where credit’s due, I should mention Ina Garten. I discovered her recipe last year, and now I’m a devoted follower. I’ve tweaked it slightly because you increase the crispy factor when you slice them in half. Give them a chance, dear readers! You won’t regret it. lv, molly

P.S. I bought that crazy stalk at Trader Joe’s, where I proceeded to talk with some hilarious ladies who were gushing about the deliciousness this veg roasted. TJ’s customers were going gaga for brussels sprouts.

My car's passengers today

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Serves 6

1 1/2 pounds Brussels sprouts
3 tablespoons good olive oil
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper (optional)
1 tablespoon minced shallots (optional)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut off the brown ends of the Brussels sprouts and pull off any yellow outer leaves. Cut in half. Mix them in a bowl with the olive oil, salt and pepper. Pour them on a sheet pan and roast for 35 to 40 minutes, until crisp on the outside and tender on the inside. Shake the pan from time to time to brown the sprouts evenly. Sprinkle with more kosher salt, and serve immediately. The outside of the brussels sprouts will be crispy and salty like french fries. Yum!

3 thoughts on “not your g-ma’s brussels sprouts.

  1. I had no clue that is how they grow! I have recipe with dijon mustard you have to try! We can leave out the bacon :)

  2. This is the preparation that got me to enjoy brussel sprouts. I was sucked into trying it by this beautiful picture in a cookbok, and now it’s one of my favorite meals this time of year. I usually make it with caramelized onions and toasted pistachios, though they’re delicious by themselves.

Leave a Reply

