my mom’s peanut butter cookies.

I have distinct memories of my mother tying my child’s-sized pink and green apron around my waist. The wooden spoons, the clay bowls, the oven preheating. The ingredients laid out methodically on the counter, in the order in which they’d be added to our creations. Our own little assembly line.

Sometimes we’d watch the news on the teensy T.V. from the ’70s; others she explained to me why Madonna was popular, what types of boys to avoid, why I should continue to work hard in school, how eggs bind ingredients.

Baking evokes warm memories of my mom and being a little girl, and it’s one of the first things I decide to do when I’m sad, overworked, or disconnected from my true self. Being a grad student and teaching in a high needs school frequently leave me feeling worn down, and when a long run doesn’t do the trick, I break out my mixing bowl and my measuring cups, and I create something that warms my home.

This simple recipe fits the bill, and it’s a perfect embodiment of my mom: sweet, straight-forward, classic. I hope you find this recipe as lovely as I do. lv, molly

Mom’s Peanut Butter Cookies

1 cup peanut butter (Jiff works the best. I’ve tried these with natural peanut butter, and they’re not quite as good.)
1 cup sugar
1 large egg, beaten
1 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 350*, and grease cookie sheets.
Beat together peanut butter and sugar in a large bowl with an electric mixer until smooth.
Add beaten egg and baking soda to peanut butter mixture, and beat until well combined.
Roll dough into a balls and place on cookie sheet. Create a criss-cross pattern with a fork.
Bake until a little golden around the edges, about 10 minutes. These will continue to cook after taking them out of the oven, so remove them before they’re totally done.
Cool cookies on baking sheet about 2 minutes and then transfer with spatula to rack to cool.
Will keep in an air-tight container for 5 days. Enjoy!

P.S. The perfect accompaniment to baking cookies is listening to Christmas music, naturally. Come November, it’s perfectly acceptable to jam to holiday music.

Leave a Reply

