first snow + fresh tomato sauce.

First things first. I’m still in love with the fact that it snowed and that I had three consecutive snow days, filled with spiked cider, reading, merriment, and pure, unadulterated joy. One of my favorite poets, Anne Sexton, said it more beautifully than I.

I am younger each year at the first snow. When I see it, suddenly, in the air, all little and white and moving; then I am in love again and very young and I believe in everything.

No amount of current work has suppressed that lingering happiness yet.

And now to the recipe…

Prior to tonight, I was oddly intimidated by the idea of boiling a tomato and removing its skin. But I decided that a pasta sauce was the perfect way to use the little romas that are hanging out in my fridge, and so I attempted it.

And it was good. A lovely quick little meal that was evocative of hot summer days. lv, molly

15 Minute Fresh Pasta Sauce

4 roma tomatoes
2-3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 Tbl good olive oil
Kosher salt and pepper to taste
10 oz. fresh pasta of any variety

Boil a large pot of water for your pasta. Cut an “x” at the top of each tomato, and put in the boiling water for 1 minute, until the skin near the “x” begins to peel back. Using a slotted spoon, remove the tomatoes and place in a bowl of cold water. The skins will peel off easily. Then squeeze the tomato to remove some of the seeds. (If you don’t get all of them, it’s not a big deal. I certainly had a few seeds.)

Add the pasta to the boiling water, and cook according to package directions. Saute garlic in olive oil for 2 minutes. Using your hands, crush the tomatoes into small pieces (this was fun!), and add to the garlic and oil. Season with salt and pepper, and saute until hot, several minutes more.
Toss the sauce with the pasta. Voila!

Photo via here.

One thought on “first snow + fresh tomato sauce.

Leave a Reply

