comfort.

Tumblr_krhmypgczh1qzfya1o1_500_large

It’s almost the weekend. Le sigh.

This has been rough for me. Teaching presents more challenges than I could’ve anticipated two years when I decided to get my certification and Masters. This month was the first time since I started paying rent (7 years ago?) that I forgot to pay it on time. My mind has constantly been occupied with other things, and this weekend I need to restore my mind and body to some semblance of peace and health.

What are your go to self-care practices?

I run, cook a really good meal, see good friends or family, and blast ’90s pop songs. Sometimes I bake a cake or wear my favorite silly leopard print pajamas and watch “30 Rock.” (In that state, I bear a sad resemblance to Liz Lemon.)

Here’s my standby soup recipe for when I’m too tired to put too much effort into creating dinner, but I’m craving comfort. This takes about an hour + total but only 15 minutes of active work time.

I hope this warms your soul as it warms mine! Comfort food is just what we need in these cold months, particularly if we have a lot on our shoulders. lv, molly

Bread and Tomato Soup

Serves 3-5

1⁄4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1 cloves garlic, peeled and finely chopped
1 leek, white and light green parts only, washed and finely chopped
4 1/2 cups puréed peeled Italian tomatoes
1 1/2 cups stock
4 3⁄4″-thick slices stale unsalted bread, halved (Tuscan or french bread work well)
1 tbsp. chopped basil leaves (or 1/2 tsp. dried basil)
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Heat 1/8 cup of the oil in a large wide pot over medium heat. Add garlic and cook until light golden, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium-low; add leeks; and cook, stirring often, until very soft but not browned, 10-15 minutes. Add the tomatoes and stock, and stir to mix well. Increase heat to medium-high and bring soup to a boil. Then reduce heat to medium-low to maintain a simmer and continue to cook, stirring occasionally, for 30 minutes.
Remove the pot from the heat. Add the bread, pushing it into the soup with a wooden spoon until each piece is submerged. Add the basil and stir gently to combine. Cover the pot and set it aside to let the bread soak until completely softened, about 30 minutes.
Uncover the pot and whisk the soup vigorously until the bread breaks down and the soup resembles porridge, 4–5 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Gently reheat soup over medium heat. Ladle the soup into warm bowls and drizzle with remaining olive oil.

Smile and breath.

Image

2 thoughts on “comfort.

  1. Pingback: winter comfort food! « joie de vivre!

Leave a Reply

