vegan pie fail.

As a someone whose Google Reader is filled with vegetarian and vegan food blogs, I keep reading about the wonders of silken tofu as a replacement for cream and eggs, particularly in puddings.

I wrongly assumed that silken tofu would, like the extra firm tofu I’m used to, be a tabula rasa of sorts, a blank slate that would take on all of the delicious flavors around it. This assumption led to the creation of a pie I don’t want to eat, let alone serve. I apologize to my friend who’s coming over for dinner tonight. I’ll probably serve it to him just so we can laugh at how bad it is.

It’s akin to Bridget Jones’ blue soup. Here’s what went wrong.

Silken tofu does have a taste (surprise!). The other ingredients need to have a strong flavor and be plentiful to mask the tofu taste. Its consistency is perfect, however, and I do think it has potential as an excellent and healthy substitute for fatty dairy products.

If I were to make this again, I’d double the amount of chocolate. Seriously. And I’d lessen the agave nectar because the significant boost in chocolate would negate the need for added sweetness. (That sentence was so unnecessarily verbose! And I’m leaving it!)

Here’s the recipe for this pie with all of the necessary changes included. I think this would be quite yummy and chocolatey, and you wouldn’t taste the tofu. What are your suggestions for using silken tofu? How can I avoid a gross pie in the future? Do you think this new recipe will work well? So many questions about this mysterious foray into the vegan world. lv, molly

Vegan Chocolate Pie

1 crust (smash a bunch of chocolate wafers with 1 Tbl. canola oil, bake at 300 degrees for 10 mins.)
2 cups vegan dark chocolate chips
1-2 Tbl. agave nectar
20 oz. silken tofu (the kind in the box that’s found in the Asian food section)

Melt chocolate in a double broiler. Blend with agave nectar and silken tofu until smooth. Pour into crust, and chill for 2-3 hours. The pie, that is. But you can chill too.

One thought on “vegan pie fail.

  1. I’ve had one success and one failure with tofu pies. The first time I tried it I made an awesome key lime pie. It was impossible to tell that it had tofu in it. This Thanksgiving I tried it again with pumpkin and it was terrible. It did get somewhat better after it sat for a while, but it still wasn’t good. I have no idea where the good recipe came from, but I think it involved mori-nu tofu mates somehow.

Leave a Reply

