blah.

Tumblr_laclflnrsj1qdtpb3o1_500_large

I’m under the weather.

It could have something to do with the fact that I stayed out until 1 last night– no small feat considering that I normally go to bed at 9. (I have to wake up insanely early, you see). Or because I’m around kids all day, and children are notorious carriers of diseases. (Kidding. Kind of.) Regardless, I’m taking it easy today.

What are your go-to practices when you’re sick? Any favorite soup recipes you care to share? Here’s my plan. lv, molly

1. Watch The Boondock Saints on Netflix instant. This might be one of the worst movies I’ve seen, a parody of itself, and an outright endorsement of fanatical vigilantism, and yet… wait, why am I watching this again?

2. Make stracciatella, a humble Italian egg-drop soup that takes longer to eat than to make. (See recipe below.)

3. Consider watching The Count of Monte Cristo. (Another awesome revenge tale, this time starring Jim Caviezel!)

4. Browse Steven Alan’s spring collection via the interwebs.

5. Read my friend Kelsey’s new vegan blog Unmitigated Grub. It’s as charming as she is, and the recent post on ugly food made me laugh out loud. Have a look!

6. Laugh at the comments on Paula Deen’s recipe for English Peas. Hint: it only has two ingredients, and one is butter. The comments are hilarious. Some favorites:

“Might I suggest — dare I guild this lily — would it be impertinent to recommend…. a single crouton floating in the center? And maybe a stout ale, and a defibrillator on the side?”

“I only had fresh peas in the house but this really sounded good. So I stayed up until 4am canning them then when that was finished I followed the recipe as directed. Quite tasty. The prep/cook time is wrong though. I’d say about 6 hours.”

“Which half of the 1/2 stick of butter should I melt?”

“Can anyone tell me what I’m supposed to do with the paper from the butter wrap that’s in the melted butter? Is this a garnish?”

And now for that soup recipe I was telling you about…

Stracciatella

Serves 2-4

4 cups lightly flavored stock (you could do half veg. stock/ half water)
4 eggs
4 Tbl freshly grated Parmesan cheese
A tiny grating of fresh nutmeg
2 Tbl minced parsley
Salt + Pepper

Bring 3 cups stock to a boil over medium-high heat in a saucepan. Beat the remaining stock with the eggs, the cheese, the nutmeg, and the parsley until they are well blended.
When stock is boiling, adjust heat so it bubbles frequently but not furiously. Add egg mixture in a steady stream, stirring occasionally until eggs gather together in small strands, 2 or 3 minutes.
Taste, and add salt and pepper to taste. Serve, garnishing with a little more Parmesan if you like.

Image

3 thoughts on “blah.

  1. ecuadorian ceviche with plantain chips and popcorn! eating it now. also feeling the exhaustion that is January in schools, added to scorpio defensiveness and increased concern for egyptian revelutionaries.

    Regan

  2. Thanks for the shout out Molly! I hope you’re feeling better. Paula Deen is TOO. MUCH. Love those comments haha.

  3. i’m fairly certain that adding the butter wrapper is Paula homage to this new “healthy food/healthy fiber” craze that’s gripping the nation.

Leave a Reply

