spinach + pear salad.

Image_large

Despite my best efforts, I don’t love cooked spinach.

Kale works well sauteed because it’s a fibrous leaf, and it maintains some texture even when it’s cooked. But spinach is delicate, and I find it becomes too mushy when cooked. I don’t like mushy things.

As someone who’s prone to anemia, it’s important I keep it in my diet. Here’s one way I like to prepare it. Easy peasy, good for you, and delicious. No mushy spinach here. lv, molly

Pear + Spinach Salad

1 10 ounce package baby spinach
3 ripe Bartlett pears, peeled, cored and sliced
1/2 C dried cranberries (optional)
1/4 C chopped walnuts
3 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
3 Tbl white wine vinegar
1 Tbl lemon juice
Pinch of salt

Wash and dry spinach and place in large bowl with pear slices. Sprinkle cranberries and walnuts on top. Whisk oil, vinegar, lemon and salt, and drizzle over salad. Serve!

Image

Leave a Reply

