running jams.

Two of my recent running favorites. I’m training for a half marathon. Have I told you? I try to run 5 days a week, but these last two months of student-teaching, I may end up running less do to time constraints. These songs (and plenty of carbs) have been fueling my runs and making them much more enjoyable; music is monumental in keeping me motivated and entertained as I run.

What are some of your favorite songs to listen to when you hit the pavement or the gym? lv, molly

P.S. This site is great for mapping runs! Thanks, Annika!

#1. For getting started, particularly on a cold morning when all I want to do is stay in bed. This makes me want to run fast.

#2. For cooling down. A Welsh man I dated briefly in my early 20s (who happened to have the sing-song-y-iest voice) introduced me to Joanna Newsom, and I was originally put off by her  unique voice. Over the past year, I’ve developed an appreciation for her beautiful melodies. At the end of a run, I find myself smiling as she sings La la la la.

2 thoughts on “running jams.

  1. I love that first one!
    I’m an indoor runner these days (just graduated from the treadmill to the track; recovering from an ankle injury) and lately I’ve been listening to a LOT of Animal Collective while I run. They’re one of my favourite bands anyway; they’re so wacky that I can’t help be in a good mood, and their beats are just so infectious it makes me grin as I circle the track.
    Particular favourites are the following:
    Grass
    Purple Bottle
    Brother Sport

Leave a Reply

