scone obsession.

The Queen of Tarts-- One of My Favorite Bakeries in Dublin

Lately I’ve been obsessed with scones; today marks the second batch I’ve made in two weeks. I realize this isn’t a healthy obsession, but it’s possible I’ll make another round, and you may soon grow tired of me swooning over a baked good that’s essentially just flour, cream, and a smidgen of sugar.

When I lived in Ireland, I finally began to understand what scones are meant to be: fluffy, rich, perfect little vehicles for salted butter or homemade jam. In America, they’re often dry and lifeless– the hockey-pucks of pastry.

Here’s a simple and delicious recipe that comes close to rereating the deliciousness of Irish scones that I miss dearly. Not to mention all my Irish friends (and lady friends! Kels!), whom I miss even more! lv molly

P.S. These are delicious with currants or other berries. Simply add about a cup after you’ve mixed everything else.

P.P.S. No, they’re not missing butter. Look at the amount of cream.

NOTE: DON’T OVERMIX! It’ll break down too much starch, and the scones will become stiff and lifeless like morgue inhabitants. (That was a bit of a dark simile, huh?)

Perfectly Plain Scones

2 C flour, sifted (you may use 1 C all-purpose and 1 C whole wheat pastry flour)
1 Tbl baking powder
2 Tbl sugar
3/4 tsp salt
1 1/3 C heavy cream

Preheat oven to 375. Sift dry ingredients. Add cream, and mix gently. Transfer to flat surface, and pat to 2 ” thickness. Cut into 6-10 triangular or circular scones. Place on a parchment-lined baking sheet. Brush with cream. Bake for 12 minutes.

One thought on “scone obsession.

Leave a Reply

