teaching, learning, + soup.

I can’t believe this week is almost over! It’s flown by, and I’m excited for a weekend full of birthday celebrations, baking, and running. Any exciting plans for you?

Things are going well at my new school, I’m happy to report. Today I taught a variety of strategies for determining the meaning of words students don’t know, and students practiced the strategies in groups, reading articles they chose. I provided a variety of articles, the topics ranging from arranged marriages in Afghanistan to the discovery of new planets to cyber bullying and Oscar nominees. It’s exciting to see kids understanding and engaging with texts and ideas they might not have understood previously.

Today is confirmation that students want to learn, and providing them choice in their reading materials is one of the best ways to keep them engaged. Yes! An exciting success after some mediocre, less successful lessons earlier in the week.

I’m still learning to teach; I make missteps daily. But it’s days like today that help me see evidence of my growth as an educator.

In other news, I’ve discovered a new food blog that makes me want to cook all day. Beautiful photos and delicious recipes. If you’re as into cooking as I am, have a look. This vegetable soup looks particularly delectable.

lv, molly

One thought on “teaching, learning, + soup.

  1. Hooray! It’s exciting when you can actually see the difference you’re making. My friend works at a school deep in the south side of chicago. The student’s ACT practice test scores were really, very low at the start of the year but since then she has raised each and every one of them by at least 2 points. I’m so proud of her! And you! Keep up the good work ;)

Leave a Reply

