the day i cooked brown food + listened to natasha bedingfield.

More specifically, “Unwritten” 3 times. I probably shouldn’t admit that. It reminds me of my friend Lizzy and her old mercedes… and a chihuahua named Mokey. Good times.

Tonight is my friend Elana’s birthday party. Because I’m busy and stressed 90% of the time, I’ve done a fairly poor job as co-hostess/ organizer. Fingers crossed it’ll be awesome because this special lady deserves a fantastic birthday party.

The theme, if you want to call it that, is monochromatism. Everyone is dressing the same color as the food they bring.

I was assigned brown. Brown is arguably the grossest of all colors, but everybody loves brownies. And wheatberries are brown too. Should I point out other brown foods that you already know are brown?

Point is, I’m bringing a side dish I made and a dessert that I didn’t really make.

Here’s the recipe for the wheatberry salad. It’s really yummy– an old standby. The brownie recipe is only considered a recipe by the likes of Paula Deen and Bobby Flay. It is actually combining a box of mix with an egg and oil. lv, molly

P.S. Are supermarkets on Valentine’s steroids this year? I went to QFC and was bombarded by a series of helium-inflated heart-shaped objects with strings attached to them.

Wheatberry Salad

1 cup hard winter wheatberries
Kosher salt
1 C finely diced red onion, about 1 onion
6 Tbl good olive oil, divided
2 Tbl balsamic vinegar
3 scallions, minced, white and green parts
1/2 red bell pepper, small diced
1 carrot, small diced
1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Place the wheatberries and 3 cups of boiling salted water in a saucepan and cook, uncovered, over low heat for approximately 45 minutes, or until they are soft. Drain.
Saute the red onion in 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium-low heat until translucent, approximately 5 minutes. Turn off the heat and add the remaining 4 tablespoons (1/4 cup) of olive oil and the balsamic vinegar.
In a large bowl, combine the warm wheatberries, sauteed onions, scallions, red bell pepper, carrot, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and the pepper. Allow the salad to sit for at least 30 minutes for the wheatberries to absorb the sauce. Season, to taste, and serve at room temperature.

And I’m going to be obnoxious and slow this page’s loading speed by embedding Natasha Bedingfield’s amazing song “Unwritten,” which isn’t annoying at all. (I previously posted her other annoying song because I got them confused. But no, it’s this one. This is the one that I listened to 3 times.)

One thought on “the day i cooked brown food + listened to natasha bedingfield.

  1. Thanks for the recipe, Molly! I bought wheatberries recently and then couldn’t find a recipe I liked that wasn’t all fussy and complicated. This sounds great. Just need to pick up a few thiings and this will be on it’s way to my table. Thanks, again and hope the party was wonderful!
    Fran

Leave a Reply

