monday music + dinner.

2957559593_376a47fd15_z_large

I hope your Monday treated you well. It’s laundry day for me because my outfits have become increasingly ridiculous over the past week. Today a denim skirt accompanied purple tights and a green cardigan. I looked like your stereotypical nerdy, poorly dressed English teacher. Students commented. You know it’s bad when students notice.

Today I’ve been listening to iconoclastic singer P.J. Harvey’s new album Let England Shake, which NPR is streaming in its entirety. She’s insanely talented, and you should have a listen here.

In other news, I’m craving a simple Asian dinner tonight. Here’s what I’m cooking. lv, molly

Spicy Garlic Sauce for Tofu

1 clove garlic, minced
1/4 C chopped scallion
2 tsp sesame seeds, toasted, crushed with side of a heavy knife
3 Tbl soy sauce
1 Tbl Asian sesame oil
1 tsp coarse hot red-pepper flakes
1/2 tsp sugar

Steam, broil, or pan-fry firm tofu. Combine above ingredients, and spoon over tofu. Served with steam vegetables and rice.

Also, I was recently reminded of Snoop Dog’s appearance on Martha Stewart’s show. They make mashed potatoes, and he adds cognac. It’s an awkward classic, and I have to post it. I tried to make a tenuous connection to the rest of this post, and I grasped at straws. What’s a non-sequitur again? What’s that?

Image

One thought on “monday music + dinner.

  1. this video is too funny! great way to start my day. :)

    and love the sound of that spicy garlic sauce.

Leave a Reply

