happy weekend! (+ a unique salad)

search_for_inspiration via thirfty solutions

Hello! I hope you have a wonderful weekend ahead of you. I’m going to go on a long run, to a soccer game, and hopefully I’ll make a delicious Irish coffee tomorrow.

Sunday’s all about some serious lesson planning, as next week I’m teaching (and video-taping– hello, awkward!) the lessons for my teacher certification project. Serious stress ahead.

I’m also going to make one of my favorite salads: a blood orange salad with fennel. It’s light, crisp, and flavorful– just the thing I’m craving. I hope fun awaits you! lv, molly

Fennel + Blood Orange Salad

2 medium-sized fennel bulbs
1 Tbl blood orange juice
2 Tbl extra-virgin olive oil
½ tsp sea salt
½ tsp freshly ground black pepper
2 blood oranges

Trim the base and tops of the fennel and discard (keep a few clean fennel fronds if you were lucky enough to get them; you can use these in soup). Place the blood orange juice, olive oil, salt, and pepper in a bowl and whisk well.
Slice across the fennel bulb very finely, almost shaving it, then toss the sliced fennel in the dressing. (This makes me wish I had a mandolin even more.)
Trim off the ends of each orange, and discard. Cut off the peel, and then slice the orange finely crosswise.
Form a stack of sliced fennel and orange on plates. Drizzle with any remaining dressing and serve.

And lastly… an awesome video. I want to go dancing now.

Image

Leave a Reply

