simple breakfast bars.

Recently I’ve been posting more fashion than food, which is a shame because I really love food and writing about it. But this whole giving-up sugar-thing has put a serious damper on my baking, and I haven’t had enough time to make anything particularly blog-post-worthy for dinner as of late. (I’m in the throws of completing my teaching certificate project and am going mildly insane.)

This weekend, time permitting, I’d like to experiment with some white sugar substitutes for baked goods: fruits, stevia (will this kill me???), agave, honey, etc.

In the mean time, I’d like to share a recipe that I’ve made frequently over the past few years but never posted because I’ve deemed it too hippy-ish and not particularly exciting. But I really enjoy it– so why not share? Plus, it has peanut butter. Have I mentioned my undying love for peanut butter?

These bars are inspired by a breakfast bar I had a bakery here in Seattle that’s rich with peanut butter, oats, sunflower seeds, and dried fruit. I normally find breakfast bars boring or overly sweet, but this is the perfect mix between salty and sweet, and it packs a protein punch, perfect for us vegetarians and vegans. Plus, it’s super easy and great for breakfasts on-the-go. lv, molly

P.S. I haven’t made these in the last couple months, so no picture! But they look good!

Peanut Butter + Oat Breakfast Bars

1 ripe mashed banana
1 1/2 C oats
1/2 c shredded coconut (I use unsweetened… alternatively, you can sub an extra 1/2 C oats)
1/2 C raisins (or any dried fruit, preferably unsweetened)
1/4 C sunflower seeds
1/2 C agave or honey
1/2 C natural peanut butter (or any nut butter– e.g., almond– but preferably unsweetened and without hydrogenated oils)
1.5 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 Tbl flax seeds (optional)

Mash the banana. Mix in the peanut butter and agave. Combine the rest of the ingredients in a separate bowl. Then mix everything together. Press the mixture into an 8″x8″ pan. Pop in the freezer for a few hours, and then cut into 10 bars. Wrap each in plastic wrap. These freeze well. Perfect for a breakfast on the go!

Image

7 thoughts on “simple breakfast bars.

  1. ummm amazing. these kind of sound designed for my taste buds haha. can’t wait to try. and too hippie? no such thing. :)

  2. Amazing! I have all of this in my cupboard & will be making these within the week. Thanks for sharing ;)

Leave a Reply

