brussels sprouts salad.

When sliced thinly, brussels sprouts make excellent salad material. And when paired with an apple cider vinaigrette?! Woo! So delicious! If I’m invited to any parties this summer (yeah, right!), I’ll be bringing this with me. lv, molly

Fresh Brussels Sprouts Salad

1/2 lb brussels sprouts, white stems removed
1 green apple
2 green onions, white and pale green part only OR 1/4 C diced chives
1/2 C walnut or pecans, preferably toasted and chopped

2 Tbl apple cider vinegar
1/4 C olive oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt
1 tsp Dijon style mustard
Freshly ground black pepper

Shred the brussels sprouts using a mandolin or sharp knife (be careful, and have patience! I often don’t, and then I end up with cut fingers). Thinly slice the apple; then cut each slice into matchsticks. Thinly slice the green onions or chives, and toss with the shredded brussels sprouts and apple pieces.
In a small bowl, combine the cider vinegar, olive oil, salt and Dijon mustard. Toss the dressing with the salad; season with freshly ground pepper to taste, and add the toasted nuts.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “brussels sprouts salad.

  1. I had a salad like this at a restaurant in Chicago last New Year’s, and I think about it all the time. Instead of slicing the brussels sprouts, though, they just picked all the leaves off and used them in place of the greens in a salad. Brilliant. It also had the genius addition of dried cranberries. It’s been on my to-make list since then — thanks for reminding me!

  2. That sounds delicious! Dried cranberries would go fabulously with brussels sprouts. Yum! I’m so used to roasting them, but I’m glad I’ve realized that they’re pretty versatile!

Leave a Reply

