bad movies & a good salad.

Fresh chard from J&D's garden!

This was one of the freshest dinners I’ve had in a while; it took 10 minutes of active work time; and it has caramelized onions (yum!). But before I divulge the recipe, I think we need to discuss a little something called Transformers in 3D because, frankly, I can’t take my mind off this train wreck.

Michael Bay: the offender

3D dazzles me. No matter the quality of the film, if I see it in 3D, I automatically assume it’s somehow better than if it were in 2D and want to hand an Oscar to it. The first half I could hardly stop myself from gasping and aawing every time I perceived something to be coming off the screen and at my face (and then peering around to see if other audience members were equally in awe; most seemed nonplussed by the feats of 3D).

But this movie is so, so bad that 3D couldn’t redeem it. There are a series of shots of the obligatory doe-eyed girlfriend seemingly contemplating the explosions around her (or coming to some great realization– who can tell?). This was welcome comic relief because it grows tiresome watching machines blow each other up, especially when Michael Bay tries to evoke the audience’s sympathy for said machines.

We went to see it knowing that it would be absolutely ridiculous, but please, I beg of you; don’t let Michael Bay take 2 1/2 hours of your life. See the movie about elephants in 3D instead. I think you may learn something and not feel as though your brain was turned to mush.

There are some movies, however, that are so bad they’re good. Christian and I watched the ultimate this week, as per my little brother’s suggestion. THE ROOM. Despite my fascination with the absurdity of this movie, it leaves me speechless, so watch the preview, laugh, and then go rent it. You probably won’t regret it, though I can’t say for sure because it’s absolutely terrible– but at least there aren’t explosions that sustain an entire hour of your time. And the whole thing is comic relief.

Variety Magazine called this the worst movie of all time

And now on to what this post should be about: a recipe I like.

Janna and Dan brought us a bunch of vegetables from their garden yesterday, and I was excited to use as many as I could in a salad. But salads for dinner should be more substantive and include protein, so I added lentils too. Beluga lentils are tiny and delicate, and you can buy pre-cooked ones from Trader Joe’s, which are super convenient.

And now, the recipe… I will leave you with a quote from the ever-inspiring Optimus Prime: “Decepticons will never leave your planet alone.” lv, molly

P.S. What are your favorite protein-rich salads? I’m always on the look more ideas.

Lentil and Swiss Chard Salad

For the salad:
1 C beluga or le puy lentils, cooked
1 tbl capers
4 spring onions, chopped
1 onion, sliced thinly
1 Tbl butter
1 bunch Swiss Chard, roughly chopped

For the dressing:
(I used Newman’s Own Balsamic Vinaigrette because I was short on time, but this is the dressing I would make…)
6 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
2 tbsp red wine vinegar
1 tsp thyme
salt and pepper to taste

Saute the onions and butter in a pan over medium-low heat for 20-30 minutes, until they’re browned and slightly sweet. Then toss with the lentils, until heated. Meanwhile, make the dressing (or open the bottle of Newman’s Own…). Toss everything together and voila! A light summer dinner’s served.

So much better than Transformers

2 thoughts on “bad movies & a good salad.

  1. haha love the bad movie review! and The Room is added to my rental list.

    this salad looks perfect! I always forget about lentils in salads…and they’re really the perfect pair! I usually do edamame or chickpeas for a protein kick…and almost always sunflower seeds.

    • let me know what you think of The Room! I can’t wait for you to see it. It’s just unbelievable, and I love that the guy who made it financed it himself, thinking of it as some great expose on trust. ha!

Leave a Reply

