potatoes, onions, & restlessness.

In our fruit basket we’ve got a beautiful onion and some russet potatoes. Time to make a potato and onion frittata with sauteed kale. (When I first moved in with Christian, his fruit basket was filled with fruit snacks. I find this charming, adorably weird, and questionable health-wise. It’s one of my favorite stories, and I suspect he finds it odd that I still find this amusing.)

How are you doing? I’ve been rather out of sorts– looking hard for a job teaching middle school English, trying to keep active and find joy in this time of transition, and enjoying the fleeting sunshine by taking long walks and sitting in the backyard. My nose has more freckles, and I’m slowly but surely plowing through my seemingly endless collection of books.

These days I’m reading Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut and The Weight of Water by Anita Shaw. Totally different books with completely different tones and agendas, and I think that’s why I’m enjoying reading them concurrently. It’s nice to break from Vonnegut’s clever wit and keen sense of observation to something more obviously emotional and slightly poetic. Shaw isn’t as talented a writer as Vonnegut, but I’m okay with that. I’m appreciating the balance and the, at times, banality of Shaw’s prose. (That might not sound like a compliment, but banality may be just what’s called for after a heavy dose of Vonnegut.)

But back to the food. Because that’s what this post was intended to discuss.

I love frittatas. I feel oddly passionate about frittatas and their place in a vegetarian diet. They’re a good source of protein– something that still concerns me after years of vegetarianism because I know I get sleepy and lethargic without a balanced diet. And they’re an unbelievably tasty way to use vegetables you seemingly have no use for.

But I messed this frittata up. I thought I could bake the potato and cut it up (silly!) and that I could jam pack it with kale to increase its nutrition without any negatives (silly!). I’ve included the recipe for how I’d make it next time, since it has such potential… And this time I based it on a tried and true frittata recipe instead of doing what I darn well please without regard for directions. (Oops!)

potato fail

What are your plans for the weekend? I’m going to pilates, on a hike to a place with wildflowers, bowling at too early a time to be even semi-respectable, and seeing my cohort from grad school. And probably making some cinnamon biscuits. Mmm!

lv, molly

My Do-Over Veggie Frittata

4 medium red potatoes
1 medium yellow onion
3 Tbl olive oil
2 cloves of garlic
3 cups of kale, chopped and big stems removed
2 Tbl parmesan cheese
6 eggs
pinch of salt & freshly ground pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
If you have a mandolin, great! Use it to cut the potatoes finely. If not, get out a good knife, and slice away. Then slice the onion finely. Put 2 tbl of the oil in a pan, and add the potatoes. Saute for 5 minutes on medium-high heat. Add onions, and saute for 10 minutes more. Add kale and cook until wilted. Add garlic and cook for 2 minutes more.
Meanwhile, crack eggs into a bowl. Add parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper. Whisk.
Mix everything together, and pour into a pan. Cook for 15-20 minutes. If you want it nicely browned on top, broil for 2 minutes at the end.

I think yours will look better than this

Leave a Reply

