crisco vs. butter?

From 1914... notice that the pie is at least 4 times the size of the woman's head.

Pie-makers, do you use crisco or butter? I consider myself a butter person. (I just had a mental image of a butter sculpture of myself. Try not to think of that because it won’t do you any good.)

Though butter isn’t good for you per say, I still maintain that natural is better. I know what butter is and where it comes from, and I like using ingredients that my great grandmother would recognize. Plus, I love a crust that has a nice buttery taste. While a pie will never be healthy, I still prefer to use natural, whole ingredients. But people who use crisco swear by its ability to make a crispy, flaky crust.

What is crisco exactly? Is it just vegetable oil or does it contain more dubious ingredients? And does it achieve a better crust than butter?

Christian swears by his mom’s recipe, which originates from The Woman’s Home Companion and calls for crisco instead of butter. I’m planning on testing it tomorrow, but I’m curious about your thoughts about the crisco vs. butter debate first…

lv, molly

P.S. When I first heard this song, I thought it was terrible, and now I’m obsessed… (It doesn’t hurt that I think Beyonce is awesome.) I definitely run faster when it comes on, and I just can’t deny it anymore. What are your guilty music pleasures?

From 1934... I sure hope crisco's digestible, lady!

2 thoughts on “crisco vs. butter?

  1. crisco weirds me out, too, not gonna lie. I try not to give it too much thought! ;)

    my grandma’s michigan cherry pie (my personal favorite pie, with one of the best crusts around) is actually made with canola oil! I was shocked to discover this, as I thought butter was where it’s at! I’m excited to try it out since I won’t have to “veganize” it. Food for thought…

    Love this pie challenge by the way! I want to eat your crisco pie! (and pretend it’s not crisco ha!)

    • Haha! Yeah, it’s kind of creepy!

      If you have the recipe, send it on over my way! I’m getting kind of sick of pie, but I want to bake the best one. Hahaha.

Leave a Reply

