black bean & sweet potato enchiladas.

When I was little kid, my very sweet and very talented mom cooked us special birthday dinners. Whenever my birthday was rolling around, she’d inquire what I’d like that year, and I always thought for a minute about all the foods I loved, paused, and replied “enchiladas.” My brothers requested pasta or oreo cheesecake or pizza on their birthdays, but it was enchiladas for me. And they still render me a pretty happy lady.

Before I give you the recipe for this, I should let you in on a little secret. I didn’t find the recipe. I didn’t modify it. Nor did I cook it. But I did eat it. Mmm.

You see, that was all Christian’s doing, and it is but one of the reasons I love him. These past couple weeks have been maddeningly busy, and he made me enchiladas. I’m not sure if I could be much happier.

Also, The Kitchn posted one of my questions. Have a look! Readers submitted LOTS of quick vegetarian meal ideas!

lv, molly

Black Bean & Sweet Potato Enchiladas

3 large sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
1 Tbl olive oil
1 large garlic clove, minced
1 small chile, seeded and minced
One 15-oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
One 14.5-oz. can roasted diced tomatoes, drained
1 Tbl chili powder
salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
2 C salsa (we used 1/2 corn salsa and 1/2 super spicy salsa)
8 large flour tortillas
1/4 C finely chopped red onion
1/2 C sharp cheddar (optional)

Preheat oven to 400F. Put the sweet potatoes on a lightly oiled baking sheet in a single layer and roast for 20 minutes, turning once, until they’re tender. Remove from oven and set aside.

Turn oven down to 350F. Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add garlic and chile, and cook about 30 seconds, stirring constantly, until fragrant. Add beans, tomatoes, chili powder, and salt and pepper to taste. Add cooked sweet potatoes and simmer mixture 5 minutes. Set aside.

Spread a thin layer of salsa on the bottom of a lightly oiled 9 x 13-inch baking dish and set aside.

Place a tortilla on a flat work surface, spoon a portion of the sweet potato mixture down the center of it and roll it up. Place the filled enchilada in the baking dish with the seam side down. Repeat with remaining tortillas and sweet potato mixture. If there’s any filling left over, spoon it on top of the enchiladas, then top with remaining salsa and sprinkle with red onion and grated cheddar cheese.

Cover and bake until the enchiladas is hot and bubbly, about 20 minutes. Serve immediately. Serves 6-8.

*Variations:
Use green salsa
Add more veggies
Add cilantro
Add tomatillos
Leave off the cheese for a vegan version

2 thoughts on “black bean & sweet potato enchiladas.

  1. Can’t believe your question made the kitchn! I love reading those reader generated answers. These look so delicious. I just told my mom the other week that I’d like enchiladas for my brithday this year. Great minds…

  2. Pingback: winter comfort food! « joie de vivre!

Leave a Reply

