almond flour… who knew it’s this good?

Have you heard of Gojee? It’s [yet another] recipe search engine that’s filled with beautiful photos and seemingly excellent recipes, but I think it may be even more user friendly than Google recipes. I found this recipe using Gojee and thought I’d pass it along. :)

I was intrigued by the idea of almond flour for two reasons; I think I consume too much wheat (snooooze, I’ll stop there), and I love baked goods that pack a little more protein than the average. Almond flour is simply a whole lot of almonds very finely ground, so with every cookie you get a nice serving of protein and healthy fats. Plus, whatever you bake will have a hint of almond flavor. Yum.

The subtle taste of almonds combined with dark chocolate and a hint of salt makes for an unusually delicious cookie with a wonderfully soft texture. I’ve never tasted anything like them, and Christian and I have fallen hard for this recipe. (He assisted in the kitchen, and in an ironic turn of events, I messed up with baking. Yes. I did. I doubled the cocoa powder, so I insisted we double the recipe to compensate for the extra cocoa powder… Lucky for us, these cookies are great and they freeze well.)

I’ve never made gluten free cookies without some strange combination of sorghum flour or tapioca, but this recipe doesn’t need either. The consistency of the cookies was exactly what you’d hope for with a chocolate chip cookie, and they’re secretly a little healthy. What more could you ask for?

And now that I have all this almond flour… ideas for how to use it?

lv, molly

P.S. Should I be embarrassed that I listen to Beyonce while I bake? This has been a subject of mockery as of late… but I’m going to keep on listening because I love dramatic solos, horrible electric guitar, and cheesy lyrics. I just can’t help myself.

Chocolate Chip Almond Cookies

Makes about a dozen– we doubled the recipe, and I highly recommend it…

1/2 cup butter or oil (we used vegetable oil to cut back on the saturated fat)
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 large egg
1 Tbl vanilla extract
400g (roughly 1 cup and 2/3) blanched almond flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/4 C unsweetened cocoa powder
100g coarsely chopped dark chocolate (70%)

Preheat oven to 350F.
In a large bowl, combine butter or oil and sugar until smooth. Add egg and vanilla and mix until smooth.
In a medium bowl, combine almond flour, salt, baking soda, and cocoa powder.
Add dry ingredients to wet and combine until well incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chunks.
(Try not to eat the batter. It’s really, really good.)

Spoon large dollops of the batter onto a non-stick or lined baking tray, and flatten with fingertips. These cookies don’t spread out as much in the oven as your standard cookie, so it’s best to flatten them a little. Bake for 10-12 minutes, and cool on a rack. Makes about 1 dozen cookies.

5 thoughts on “almond flour… who knew it’s this good?

  1. Yum! I make madeleines with almond and tapioca flour. Someday, I’ll update my recipes page.

    • Those sound delicious! If you have the recipe, that’d be great. I’ve got way too much tapioca flour in my pantry!

  2. OK, Molls, here it is: GF Madeleines
    1/2 c butter, melted
    2/3 c almond flour
    1/3 c tapioca starch flour
    1/2 tsp baking powder
    1/8 tsp salt
    3 eggs
    2/3 c powdered sugar
    1 tsp vanilla
    grated zest from one medium lemon

    Beat all ingredients well. Spoon into buttered madeleine pans and bake at 375 degrees for 12 min.

    This is a Christmas morning tradition at our house–I like them better than wheat madeleines.

    Love,
    Ash

  3. Pingback: favorite recipes of 2011. « joie de vivre!

Leave a Reply

