embarrassing behaviors & roasted cauliflower with lemon.

Tumblr_l0v1c4zpmy1qat89ro1_500_large

Hello, world!

How goes it? I’m so, so sleepy. This weekend all I want to do is:

1. eat pizza
2. sleep beyond 5 a.m.
3. wear jeans with polka dot socks
3. clean the kitchen
4. go to the gym
5. read the newspaper
6. carve a pumpkin

Christian is gone this weekend, and I imagine certain secret behaviors will arise: wearing hideous p.j.s, watching embarrassing t.v., playing Beyonce loudly while I do the dishes, and other such behaviors women in relationships tend to hide (or at least subdue).Those are all fairly stereotypical, but they get weirder. I enjoy eating mashed potatoes slowly and intentionally, watching “48 Hours” mystery and pretending not to be terrified, looking through fashion magazines and dog-earing the pages that I find inspiring, and trying on fancy dresses I cannot afford. This weekend these behaviors will not be subdued, and I will wear my pajama sets proudly. Or something.

What are your plans, and how have you been? I love teaching, but it’s turning me into an old lady whose idea of fun is sleeping beyond 5 a.m. and going to the farmers’ market. But the great thing is that I’m okay with all of that because I’m very happy. And happiness isn’t something I take for granted.

I digress. This blog is supposed to be about food, right? Not my embarrassing habits or my level of happiness, which is currently quite high.

Last night, I dreaded cooking dinner. My feet hurt; I wanted to watch “Modern Family” and relish in the awkwardness; and I didn’t want to deal with dishes. But I remembered that health is important, and eating balanced meals makes me feel better. We had some cauliflower in the fridge, and I decided to roast it ’til it was slightly crispy. A healthy side dish that made me want seconds and thirds.

What are you going to cook this weekend? Anything special?

lv, molly

Roasted Cauliflower with Lemon

2 heads cauliflower, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
2 Tbl olive oil
kosher salt
pepper
juice of 1 lemon
2 Tbl capers

Preheat the oven to 375. Toss the cauliflower with olive oil, a sprinkle of kosher salt/pepper, and garlic. Spread out on a pan. Roast for approximately 30 minutes, until cauliflower is browned, cooked, but still has a bite to it.
Toss with capers and lemon. Serve immediately. Watch “Modern Family.”

3 thoughts on “embarrassing behaviors & roasted cauliflower with lemon.

  1. There are plenty of tv shows I would prefer my man never knows i enjoy… though I refuse to hide my ugly pj’s from him. :D

    • haha, me too! I may or may not have rented some seriously embarrassing movies for tonight.

      (And my embarrassing pjs consist of neon blue matching top/bottom. terrifying!)

  2. matching PJs! that is my secret single behavior, too! mine are red flannel and have reindeer on them. i also like to go to bed at 9:30 and eat instant rice with butter for dinner.

Leave a comment