it’s cold, and i’m chili.

(Forgive me, for I have made a terrible pun.)

How are you?

I’m curled up in a blanket watching “Ellen” because I absolutely love Ellen and think we should be best friends. I imagine that millions of other people think the same thing.

This week the students started reading poetry, as we discussed factors that shape our identities and how others perceive our identities. It was so satisfying to see teenagers read about and discuss complex themes. I also found that writing, “Note: this poem contains strong language” on the top of adult-themed poems was a perfectly gimicky way to get students into reading complex poetry. Success!

And now to the food…

Vegetarian chili is one of my favorite early winter meals. Warm, spicy, nourishing. Yes, please. (Also… cheap!) Earlier this week, I made a big pot, and it’s fed me for days. I love this recipe because it’s full of vegetables and bright colors. This chili is so much better the next day, as the flavors have time to strengthen and develop. I like mine topped with sliced jalapenos and sharp cheddar.

Enjoy! And a song for the weekend too.

lv, molly

My Favorite Vegetarian Chili

2 Tbl olive oil
1 yellow onion, finely chopped
3 cloves of garlic, crushed
2 large carrots, chopped
2 medium zucchini, chopped
1 Tbl tomato paste
1 can black beans, rinsed
1 can pinto beans, rinsed
1 can kidney beans, rinsed
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
2 C water
3 Tbl chili powder
3 tsp cumin
salt & pepper to taste

Saute the garlic and onion in olive oil until translucent. Add the veggies and tomato paste, and cook until soft. Add the spices, and cook several minutes more. Add beans, tomatoes, and water. Add salt and pepper to taste. Simmer for 20 minutes. Serve with sliced jalapenos and cheddar cheese.

Leave a Reply

